About the Ryan White Program

The Ryan White HIV/AIDS Treatment Extension Act of 2009 is the latest reauthorization of a federal program that was first passed by Congress in 1990 and subsequently reauthorized in 1996 2000 (previously known as the Ryan White CARE Act or the CARE Act), and 2006. The Ryan White Program provides federal funds used to develop systems of care and to pay for medical and social support services for people living with HIV disease and their families. The Ryan White Program identifies who can receive this money and describes how the money can be used.

The Ryan White Program is divided into five major parts:

  • Part A (formerly Title I) provides funding for emergency assistance to metropolitan areas.
  • Part B (formerly Title II) provides funding for support to states, including AIDS drug assistance programs (ADAP).
  • Part C (formerly Title III) provides funding for early intervention services.
  • Part D (formerly Title IV) provides funding for services for women, infants, children and youth, including links to clinical research.
  • Part F provides funding for special programs of national significance (SPNS), AIDS Education and Training Centers (AETC), and the Dental Reimbursement Program.

    For more information about the Ryan White Program, please visit the web site of the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA).

    To view the 2013 HRSA Ryan White manual for Part A click here.

    FY 2017 Ryan White Part A and MAI Final RFP

    To view the 2017 RFP click here.

    Planning Council Support Office

    The planning council's administrative affairs are managed by:

    The Office of Policy and Community Engagement
    1001 E. Fayette St.
    Baltimore, MD 21202

    Phone: 410.396.1646

      DB Error: syntax error